Home blog tour Blog Tour & Giveaway: In Between Days

Blog Tour & Giveaway: In Between Days

152
8

In Between Days

by Anne Jamison

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

GENRE: Young Adult

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Chicago suburbs, 1985. The high school. The mall. The blood-stained Mercedes. Misogyny. Homophobia. Class warfare. Cocaine.

(And the first semester isn’t even over yet.)

The Jocks with their pastel Izods. The Barbies. The loser Burnouts.

 

High school in the 1980s had rules. Barbies and Jocks can mix. Barbie cheerleaders steer clear of the losers. Punks want to burn it all down.

 

Samantha Ward doesn’t love the rules, but she plays to win. So when a snarky Burnout goes after her in a face-off, of course she fights back. Of course she fights mean. She may not get his sex joke, but she knows he made one. About her. In front of the entire cafeteria. And what’s worse, she feels a tingle when she looks at bad-boy Jason.

 

How could she know her mean girl put-down would launch a war? Or that the school she knows hides a darker world she never even dreamed of?

 

In Between Days is a pitch-perfect story of first love, friendship, and enemies; of loyalty, betrayal, and the power of secrets. This darkly funny, suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of The Outsiders and The Breakfast Club.

 

“GRIPPING AND UNPUTDOWNABLE.” –Christina Lauren, international bestselling authors of Dating You/Hating You “THIS WAS a bittersweet tumble into eighties high school nostalgia, with all the angst, sexual tension and emotional confusion involved with first love, and so well done it was a non-stop read to the end.… (Oh, and one of the best first kisses I have EVER read…),” says one reviewer

 

Author’s Note:

 

This is a historical novel that contains period language that is, and was then, and should be, offensive.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPTS (Exclusive Excerpt):

  1. day after day

7:35 am October 8, 1985

When Jason Devlin made his way to school early, he stopped behind the trees that separated Highland Central from Highland Cemetery. Just the sight of the long, low brick building stretched behind the bleachers made dead people seem like awesome company. He hopped the fence in a place it was weakened, sandwiched between two pine trees.

 

It wasn’t like he wore all black or anything, but Jason liked the cemetery. The peace of the graves helped him breathe easier as he packed his cigarette against marble and struck a match on the rough stone edge. He put the filter to his lips and breathed the flame into the tip, then let the smoke slip from his mouth in a wispy stream with a slowness that helped soothe him.

 

Jason leaned against Mr. Studebaker’s name and dates, rolling his head back on the flat stone of the beloved husband and father and smoking seat. He played with the bit of a watch he carried in his pocket, poking its sharp edge into his thumb, then releasing the pressure and rubbing the indentation it left in his skin.

 

He had fifteen minutes until first bell, having seen no reason to hang around the house with his mother and the spoiled solid fucking milk. He hated the house and its mess and its ghosts. Anywhere was better than there.

 

The cold gray markers stretched in their ordered lines across the grass like each one had a place, a reason for being there. It was like nothing else in his life.

 

Maybe that’s what he could say the next time Stagnita had him up against a locker with an arm at his throat as he asked, each word a finger stab in the chest, what Jason wanted to be other than locked up or dead. “I aspire to be a tombstone, sir, they are so straight and orderly.” Jason stubbed out his cigarette next to Mr. Studebaker and flicked it over to the trees. The thought of Stagnita’s pug-ugly face did away with his calm, and it was time to take off anyway.

 

Jason strode back to the fence and grabbed onto it with both hands, glaring at Highland Central Penitentiary for Young Offenders in all its squat, gray glory. What genius designed high schools to look like prisons, anyway? He pulled the wire down, swung his legs over, then strode down the little hill. He tugged the collar of his army jacket up and stuck his hands in the pockets. There was more of a wind, out there in the open.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

 

Anne Jamison is the author of three critical books, including Fic: Why Fanfiction is Taking Over the World. She lives in Salt Lake City with her dogs, her son, and an avant-garde poet. She is an English professor, but not the kind that corrects your grammar (unless she is actively grading your paper). In Between Days is her first novel.

 

www.annejamison.net

https://www.facebook.com/annejamisonauthor/

https://www.instagram.com/annejamisonauthor/

 

Buy In Between Days:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Between-Days-Anne-Jamison-ebook/dp/B07XLN7X69

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/in-between-days-anne-e-jamison/1133878288?ean=9781087805757

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/in-between-days-10

Apple: https://books.apple.com/us/book/in-between-days/id1481939900

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION and RAFFLECOPTER CODE

 Anne Jamison will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 COMMENTS

  1. Happy Monday! Thanks for hosting 🙂 In Between Days has alternating points of view, so this week we’re following Jason, last seen picking a fight with the rich kids in the cafeteria. Everyone has their hobbies…

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.